What's new

What is Jailbreak?

komobu

Reaction score
I am new to the iphone. Tomorrow I am getting my first iphone from verizon. What is jailbreak? do I want it? what are the advantages?

”What is Jailbreaking”
Hey guys, Let’s start by telling you about what jailbreaking an iPhone, iPod Touch or an iPad is all about. It is a simple thing to do although it can sometimes be confusing for a non computer literate person. Below we will talk you through what “jailbreaking” is.

“Jailbreaking” is a constant “cat and mouse” game with hackers finding “exploits”(meaning they find a “flaw” within Apples software on the phone) with which they can customize and bypass any restrictions their operating system may have.

As soon as these exploits (jailbreaks) become public, it is closely followed by “Apple” releasing their latest firmware containing a patch for the found exploit.

Thus the analogy “cat and mouse game” is apparent as the hackers are the mouse and Apple are the cat.

Let me start with a basic definition of “jailbreaking”. The name itself explains a lot – to break out of jail.

Basically Apple gives you “default” applications only available In the Apple AppStore. The only customisation they provide you with is homepage and lockscreen wallpaper. It’s like being in a jail cell; you have not got any freedom to modify your settings/themes/networks name (o2,AT&T etc), and no way to change your message tone to a favourite quote from a film, or add 3rd party applications (Third party applications are programs written to work within Apples software, but are written by individuals or companies other than the provider of the software)

But when you jailbreak you are completely “free” from Apples so called “jail”.