What's new

Unlock / Jailbreak my new Verizon IPhone4 Help

randco

Reaction score
I am new to the IPhone scene and recently switched from the Samsung Fascinate. I had a Blackberry curve prior to that phone. I am very interested in unlocking / jailbreaking my new IPhone but I have several questions.

1. What is the differences in unlocking and jailbreaking my phone?
2. Is one better than the other?
3. My laptop runs Windows 7 and my phone is runnuing version 4.2.6, Itunes constantly tries to get me to upgrade but I always get an error upon trying to load it to the phone. I believe it is version 4.2.8?
4.Which jailbreak program is the best for my phone and laptop operating system?

I appreciate any help on this venture, that is what prompted me to find and join this forum. Thanks

Last edited:
Unlock is about allowing an iPhone to be able to use any carrier sim card to work without issue. Jailbreak is what you have to do first in order to unlock, but you can also jailbreak and avoid unlocking your iDevice in case you do not need an unlock, a jailbreaked iDevice do everything or almost what other devices can do. Bluetooth, themes, ringtones, downloading, etc...
If you don't jailbreak you can't unlock, but you can jailbreak and never have to unlock and take advantages of what cydia offer.
3. My laptop runs Windows 7 and my phone is runnuing version 4.2.6, Itunes constantly tries to get me to upgrade but I always get an error upon trying to load it to the phone. I believe it is version 4.3.?.
You will need to update your iTunes in order to upgrade your phone iOS.
If your phone is a factory unlocked one or if you are not planning to change your carrier ten use redsnow to jailbreak it, if you want to unlock your phone and be able to use another carrier on it, you will need to know what is the baseband of your phone, anyhow you can use snowbreeze to jailbreak it by cooking your own firmware.