What's new

How to Jailbreak and unlock a Iphone 3GS with IOS 5.0/5.0.1

Outrider

Reaction score
This is a how to for the Iphone 3GS with IOS 5.0/5.0.1 and Basebands 04.26.08, 05.11.07, 05.12.01, 05.13.04, 6.15.00 ONLY!!!!
I am not an expert so I can't answer your questions if you have anything else.

Being a Newb, I spent many hours trying to figure out the process for jailbreaking and unlocking my Iphone
3GS. I had to read endless how to's and forum threads and I noticed that there were many of you folks out there not
having any luck and not getting your questions answered.

So for all of you, here is how I did it.

1.Download sn0wbreeze-v2.8b11 here http://ih8sn0w.com/
2.Download IPSW 5.0.1 Build 9A405 here http://www.iphoneforums.net/forum/i...ple-ios-firmware-download-links-iphone-17213/
3.(optional) Download Forecast v1.3 This program retrieves your S/N, baseband and other info from your phone. Phone must be turned on.
Put these in a organized forlder on your desktop for easy access

Let's get started...
-Run Snowbreeze
-Choose browse and locate the IPSW 5.0 or 5.0.1 file you downloaded. I used 5.0.1
-next step is choose bootrom, click "detect it for me", if you have old bootrom that's great, if new bootrom then it's going
to be a tethered jailbreak. I don't recomend a thethered jailbreak.

-This process requires you to be in DFU mode so just follow the onscreen instructions and proceed. There is a tutorial on how
to do this on this forum. If you know you have the old bootrom then
choose old bootrom then click next

-now choose "General" then next

-check off Activate the iphone(Hacktivate) then click next

-check off "install 6.15 ipad baseband" if you want to flash the ipad 6.15.00 baseband then click expert mode. There will be warnings
about flashing the 6.15 baseband so pay attention and quit if you don't want to proceed with it. You only want to use the ipad baseband