Will iOS 5 work in areas with less than 3g speed

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by metrakay, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. metrakay

    metrakay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would love to upgrade my 3gs, it seems to be wearing out. BUT, we only have EDGE here, and no expectation of getting 3G, much less 4g for years.

    Thanks!
     
  2. iCrank

    iCrank Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Vallejo, Ca
    iOS 5 has nothing to do with the cell phone service. What carrier are you on now.
     
  3. metrakay

    metrakay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on AT&T... No Sprint service here (or, rather, all Sprint is roaming here), Verison is mostly roaming.

    Best carrier here is US Mobile, which of course won't have it.
     
  4. iCrank

    iCrank Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Vallejo, Ca
    Oh okay. Like I said above ios5 will work on 3GS and above. I couldnt refer you to a good coverage but hopefully AT&T will change within the next few months for you
     
  5. Gregoris

    Gregoris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11,966
    Likes Received:
    617
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    you can get that device that gives you 3G in areas with no signal, I know vodafone sell them
     
  6. metrakay

    metrakay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, iCrank and Unleashed,

    I know my hardware will support the OS, my question is will the OS support the local service capabilities. I have a Wilson signal booster, if that's what you're talking about, and unfortunately you can't get cheese from a turnip. The nearest 3G signal is 25 miles away, and the signal booster can only boost what's there.

    Some of the mifi devices can do 3G & 4G, but not apparently EDGE (based upon personal experience), hence my question. I don't want to upgrade to unusable equipment or OS... I can't find any information on the subject.

    Thanks again,
     
  7. iCrank

    iCrank Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Vallejo, Ca
    You're welcome and sorry I couldn't be more of a help
     

Share This Page