What's new

Why Jailbreak?

MC_Escher

Reaction score
Thank you for reading my post. I do appreciate it. If you would, please allow me to put out a few disclaimers first...

• I did do a search first in an attempt to find an answer to my question. I didn't manage to find one, which doesn't mean it doesn't exist, it just means I couldn't find it.
  • I DID find the Jailbreak thread that answered a bunch of questions... Just not mine.
  • I am a "technical" person... I'm actually a network engineer, but I have never owned any type of smartphone, simply because I never ran into a situation where I needed some functionality that my plain old flip phone didn't have. I have no interest in social media, downloading movies, carrying around music, playing games or any of the other myriad things you can do with a smart phone.

OK, background established, I think the real reason that I can't find an answer is because my question is too specific.

I should probably mention that for the next couple of weeks I am doing what the lawyers call "due diligence"; so I am trying to find answers to every question I can think of before spending any money.

Here's what I know:

a) I have decided that if I DO buy a smartphone, I will almost certainly buy an iPhone4s. I haven't made a final decision, so I suppose it's possible I could get an Android phone, but for me the "Killer App" is SIRI and that means its highly unlikely that I won't choose to go with the iPhone.

b) One of the main reasons I am leaning so strongly towards an iPhone is because... Well, you know how sometimes you have a nail and you just need a hammer? A really specific problem with a really specific solution? That's me. I won't bore you with the details... I promise. I'll just say that it seems to me that the iPhone solves my problem VERY well and doesn't give me a lot of excess stuff that I just don't need.