Reset and Erase

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by tibadoe, Aug 22, 2019.

  1. tibadoe

    tibadoe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gladys, VA
    Can't seem to find what I need to do. I would like to reset my iPhone 6 plus back to factory. I'm running iOS 12.4 currently.

    I thought I read somewhere I need to turn off the Find My iPhone before I reset - but I don't really remember. Do I need to or not? Any other things I need to do besides just back up? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21,684
    Likes Received:
    18,613
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Find my iPhone has to be turned off before you can erase your iPhone. After the restore you’ll be given the choice of setting it up as a new iPhone or from a backup. If you want to preserve passwords and health data you must do an encrypted backup. iCloud backups are automatically encrypted but you have to manually choose the encrypted backup when you do an iTunes backup.

    when setting up the iPhone after erasing it you’ll have to enter the Apple ID and password associated with the iPhone before you can proceed.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page