What's new

Encrypted backup

brixtonboy

Reaction score
What to do, l don't think it matters what iOS it is or which iPhone. The problem is a backup has been made to Windows 8 PC the person has forgotten the encryption code. They kept telling me they had forgotten the code, l had no idea what they were talking about. So l backups it up on mine that's when l realised. I have never used it before. They kept saying you can fix it using iCloud, well l have no idea about that. Can somebody throw some light on it. Bitte. Have a great weekend

iCloud encrypts backups automatically. So backup the iDevice to iCloud. Then erase the iPhone (Settings - General - Reset - Erase all Content and Settings), and set it up as new. That should turn off encrypted backups.

I've run into this one, and it's a pain. Once you have selected "Encrypted Backup" in iTunes, you need the password in order to turn encryption off. For Mac users it's not such a big deal because the password is held in your iCloud keychain, but for Windows users it's disastrous. You cannot use iTunes again on that computer for making, or restoring, backups.

I haven't been able to check it out, but it seems to me that the complete removal of iTunes and all of its data is the only way to restore functionality. Hopefully that works, because nothing else does.

Let me stress again, as I've done in the past. DO NOT FORGET YOUR PASSWORD FOR ENCRYPTED BACKUPS!

As an aside to the above, why not use a very simple password for iTunes backups? 12345 works as well as anything else, and is only used on your local computer, so you are not trying to keep the FBI out or anything like that. Keep this one simple. You don't need layer upon layer of security.

Must confess l have never used any encryption can't see the point. If you want what l have take it

Apple says the only way to turn off encrypted backups is to erase the device and set it up as new.