What's new

Bluetooth speakerphone recommendation

jmcrae

Reaction score
Anyone want to recommend a bluetooth speakerphone? Not interested in playing music through it (iPod is hardwired into the stereo), but "decent" sound levels are a plus (F350 pickup). I'd like something that would voice dial (outgoing) and let me know who's calling (name from contacts preferable to phone number)

I know a headset would be better sound quality, but I'm done cramming a Jawbone into my ear....

iPhone 4 on Verizon if it matters

Thanks

I've been using the Jabra Freeway for several months now. It clips onto the visor directly above my head and is basically about a foot from my mouth when I speak. The sound is excellent, and I'm told that my voice is very clear to people on the other end. Lots of volume available. My biggest complaint has been that I couldn't voice dial. My iPhone 4 (also Verizon) would invariably dial a different contact than I had said. However, this was the phone's fault, not the Freeway's, and I was told that the voice recognition was greatly improved in iOS 5 so, having just upgraded, today I spent some time testing it. I was very pleased to find that it responded correctly to 3 out of 4 contacts. The 4th one had the name "Marge" in it and I suspect that it couldn't figure it out. At any rate, it was encouraging enough that I'm going to start using voice dial to see how it works out. If it announces that it's dialing the wrong contact you can always reach up and press the cancel button. When a call comes in it announces the caller by name if it's in your contacts, and all you have to do is tell it "Answer" and start talking. You can also say "Ignore" and it will stop ringing, like you had pressed a button on your phone. It uses a rechargeable battery, but it's good for like 14 hours of talk time and a whole bunch of standby time. One of my favorite features is that it senses motion in the vehicle and turns itself off automatically 10 minutes after you leave th