What's new

Battery life

zaptear

Reaction score
My phones about a year-old and I just don't seem to get anything out of battery $ImageUploadedByTapatalk1354787208.567844.jpg
This just can't be normal

Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalkh. U ss

If your Usage & Standby time are that close to each other... then you're on your phone constantly. 12hrs of Usage time is pretty darn good... regardless of how much Standby time is behind it.

Oh ok ya I don't put it down I don't have a PC or laptop so I do everything off the phone I'm also a long haul truck driver so I use it for work a lot so.... My batt time is on

My only concern really... is that it says "No Service." Are you using your iPhone w/o a cellular connection?

$ImageUploadedByTapatalk1354796259.164102.jpg
Ya I out of Cellular range I have AT&T

Ah ok. Out of that 12hrs... what would you say you're using the most during that time? 3G internet, playing games, music?

I will reply with that after my full charge I'm doing now but I do charge the phone 2 to 3 times a day

If you are having to charge your phone multiple times a day, you need to understand a few things about a lithium-ion battery so you can save yourself some grief and understand what is happening.

The iPhone 4S comes with a 500 cycle battery if memory serves. That means that you can charge it from 0 to 100% 500 times before it hits the ends of what Apple considers its serviceable life span. Now lets put this into real world terms so we can understand the implications.

The 500 cycles means that at cycle number 1, brand new battery, you will have 100% battery efficiency. At cycle number 500, if you do 100% charges every time (highly unlikely), you will only have 80% battery efficiency. That is due to the chemical breakdown of the lithium-ion salt in the battery. So we can assume that at 250 full charge cycles we will only have 90% battier efficiency. This helps set up the math.