What's new

What to do to start use my first cellphone -- iphone 5s?

fiat

Reaction score
Hi, I ordered an "iphone 5s 16GB Space Gray (GSM) T-Mobile unlocked" from Apple online store (full price). After reading about all the mess about T-M iphone 5s is NOT unlocked and talking to Apple customer service clarifying I will receive an unlocked iphone with T-M sim card installed, I was kind relieved and started thinking ahead of what to do when I receive the phone. Now since I have never used a cellphone/smartphone before, I was bothered with another issue (rumor): if I start setting up my iphone with T-M sim card installed, my iphone may be locked to T-M? Should I or Can I remove T-M sim card first and then start setup process (to prevent from locking into T-M service)? Any way, would any experienced user provide a detailed steps for starting to use my new unlocked iphone 5s?

My concerns include:
1. during the setup process, when to install T-M sim card?
2. which way to use to setup: wifi (available for me) or itunes (11.1) on my mac?
3. I assume no "restore" is needed since I never used iphone or other smartphone before (I do have a wifi only ipad3).
4. how to activate T-M sim card? (I assume it will be after finishing setup my iphone. also I assume activating T-M sim card does NOT lock my iphone to T-M.)

Pardon me for asking these basic questions/help. Thanks

After 150+ views and no reply/help? Come on, you experienced iphone users! A little help?

I'm also confused about the tmobile iphone 5s

I went to a tmobile store asking about if I can buy a iphone 5s from them and use the $30 per month plan(100minutes talk and unlimited data, with first 5gb being LTE speed), they said no, they do not have this particular plan available in store

So I walked away and chatted online with their representative and she told me, if I buy from them, no. But if I buy from apple, I can just call them and have the plan activated.