What's new

Newbie, first time iPhone user

jeb

Reaction score
Since Samsung downgraded their phones with no replaceable battery or expandable memory, and since Apple has finally right-sized (IMO) their phones, I thought I'd give them a shot. Picked up an 6S Plus a few days ago and have been fighting it ever since. We are a pure Windows house and have never owned an iPhone or Apple anything. We have a long line of Androids though, and even some of the early Windows smartphones (HTC 6700). So this is all new and there's a steep learning curve. I've been trying to get happy with the phone, but the list of headaches I've thus far is long.

I've worked through most of it. I'm a programmer and like a challenge, and thought I'd made it through the worst of it getting all my non-itunes songs and vids converted and "sync'd". And learning how bad Apples App Store is, etc.

But my last hurtle may be the straw that breaks the camels back, which is mass movement and organization of text, pdf, doc, xls, etc folders and files is impossible. I have 1000's of files in various file formats (pdf, xls, txt, doc, jpg, etc) in dozens of folders I like to keep on my smart phone. Android is just drag and drop and use built in file explorers to find them and open them. Easy peasy. iPhone makes it very hard to load them (has to be through iTunes) and you can't organize them beyond things like name and date. iCloud is not an option as I'm often outside cell range. This restriction really blows and may be the deal killer for me. It's like someone said "No, you can't use file cabinets anymore. Just take all those files and through them on the floor.".