What's new

Netflix doesn't work with iPhone 4?

Tricon7

Reaction score
I see that Youtube works fine with the new iPhone 4, but it won't work with Netflix. The error message I got when I tried to play an online video said something about not working with my operating system or something and that my browser was fine. I hear that it's a streaming media issue? If this is true, that really sucks, since I was hoping to be able to view Netflix, TruTV, and other online sites that use streaming video with my iPhone, which I just purchased today (using Verizon).

Is this all true, or am I doing something wrong? And I admit that I am very new to the world of iPhone.

I just tested Netflix under 4.2.8 on a Verizon iPhone 4. It works just fine.

I suggest you look at the following possibilities:

1) You already have 6 devices logged against your account and you need to remove one to allow the iPhone to work.

2) You try both WiFi and 3G once you confirm #1 isn't the issue.

3) You delete and redownload the App after confirming #1 and #2 aren't the issues.

You need to download the "Netflix" app from the app store (Free). This will allow you to view Netflix videos. The Netflix website uses Silverlight, which is for desktop PCs/Macs.

As for other online streaming sites, they generally use Flash. In order to view videos on these sites, you need something like the "Skyfire" web browser app; which can play Flash videos by rendering them on the remote side and streaming them back to your phone. The native browser won't work, as there is no true Flash player for the iOS platform.

It sounds like the OP was trying to use the Netflix website and not the app. The error message described is exactly what happens when you try to use the desktop site on a non-Silverlight supporting platform. Once you have the Netflix app, it will work on both 3G and WiFi.

Last edited: