I've found a serious security flaw in the new update!

Discussion in 'iPhone iOS' started by Crag88, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. eddieg

    eddieg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Piscataway N.J.
    Agreed this only happens if you dont have a passcode so it really doesnt matter.
     
  2. spaced

    spaced New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does exist. He's shown you an you have given him a resolution to it. You can't resolve something that does not exist
     
  3. Skull One

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,431
    Likes Received:
    580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Earth
    huh???? Slow down and try to explain that again.
     
  4. sharonfrommpls

    sharonfrommpls New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Yep, that's exactly what happens (iphone 4, not 4s). At least on my phone, which is not password protected.

    Let's see what happens if I enable a passcode. Okay, I set a "simple passcode" set for "immediately". Let's try it again.

    No problem. If you actually have a passcode set, you can't break in this way. After you hit the middle button to return to the desktop you are prompted for the passcode.
     
  5. dipen26

    dipen26 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mine straightly went to pass code screen
     
  6. jenniec76

    jenniec76 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It worked on my 4S without a passcode, l have now set a passcode and its safe now :)
     
  7. dorrien12

    dorrien12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Maybe you didn't set your passcode correctly or maybe somethings wrong with your phone cause I could not get in.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  8. junaid_kazi

    junaid_kazi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK

    I followed your steps and my phone takes me back to the passcode screen and ask me to enter the passcode.
     
  9. Nate9507

    Nate9507 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't work on my iOS 6 does anything work on it
     
  10. SJ2571

    SJ2571 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know what the OP is saying, and it's confirmed with my 4S with iOS6.

    My phone is set to lock after 5 minutes. So, if I unlock it, do something, then lock it and walk away, someone can come back in my 5-minute window and follow his steps to get in, even though, in theory, I wanted my phone to be locked because I pressed the lock button.

    Basically, if you have non-immediate lock timeout, then lock your phone so you feel "safe" leaving it unattended, it's a false sense of security because someone can get in within that timeout period. It makes having a timeout period pointless, and a security risk.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012
  11. kazz330

    kazz330 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Troy, NY
    does it on my 5!
     
  12. Skull One

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,431
    Likes Received:
    580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Earth
    The solution to the original post was answered last year, by me no less, and the reason you have an issue is because of how YOU setup your phone. This is NOT a security issue. It has never been a bug. YOU the user can set the phone up exactly the way YOU want it to work.

    So please do me a huge favor and read this post - http://www.iphoneforums.net/forum/i...us-security-flaw-new-update-23680/#post121265

    Thank you.
     
  13. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    The button on top of the device is not a "lock/unlock" button. It is a "sleep/wake" button. Two very different things.
    If you want your device to be passcode locked when you put it to sleep, you must set the passcode lock to be required immediately. Otherwise, the passcode timer starts counting down as soon as you use the sleep button to put it to sleep! If you wake the device before this time has expired, you can use the device without entering a passcode :)

    Simple and Logical! ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012
    • Like Like x 6
  14. Skull One

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,431
    Likes Received:
    580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Earth
    f4780y [​IMG] types much wisdom.

    Oh and I plan to steal that explanation since it is better than mine. :D
     
  15. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    153
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Not better, just different ;) steal away... :D
     

Share This Page