What's new

iphone 6s+ memory... what's using it?

jeffysno

Reaction score
I'm new to the iPhone world, so let me apologize up front for what I am sure will be a dumb question.

I have the 16gb 6s+ and understand that after accounting for the operating system files, I have approx 11gb left to use. My phone says that I've used 10.5gb and have about 600mb available. When I go into the storage &iCloud usage screen I see the used/available totals at the top and then a list of apps/programs that are using memory, but those totals (2.8gb) are nowhere near the 10.5gb the phone is saying I've used. I'm confused as to where the missing 7.7gb went. Is there a different menu screen that will show me what is using the entire 10.5gb?

Appreciate the help!

Take a screenshot of your about section in settings under the general tab showing total space and remaining space but blur out your serial and Mac address

Like So 2016-03-03 23.12.19.png

Welcome to iPhone Forums, jeffysno!

Connect your iPhone to a computer, then take a look at it's storage in the Summary tab. If you see something that's called "Other" (orange colour), in addition to Audio, ..., and this Other storage needs more than ~2 GB, then restore your iPhone using iTunes. This will help getting rid of the main part of the Other storage.
Before restoring, make sure there's a most recent backup (iCloud or iTunes, whichever you prefer).

It doesn't matter whether or not you synced the device to iTunes before, and you don't have to do it, if you don't want to. Syncing with iTunes doesn't result in a large amount of the storage called Other. With time, this storage builds up, and needs to be removed. Restoring is the only option that helps significantly.

Hope that helps.

Last edited:
also if you don't know how to screenshot press the power and home button simultaneously the screen should blink/flash if done right.