Ios11.2 Force Restart

Discussion in 'iPhone iOS' started by NSquirrel, Dec 3, 2017.

  1. NSquirrel

    NSquirrel Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Has the procedure for this changed between 11.1.x and 11.2?

    I had an app update today and thought a restart on my 8 would be a good idea, as I wanted to see if a bug in the app had been cleared, but the phone always goes to ‘slide to power off.’ (I have tried both quick and slow volume up and volume down, followed by the power button.)
     
  2. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22,224
    Likes Received:
    19,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    While the procedure may be different depending on which iPhone model you have, it did not change with the update from iOS 11.1 and 11.2.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. NSquirrel

    NSquirrel Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks scifan57. Obviously me! ☹️
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. mattguy10

    mattguy10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When the slide to power off screen comes up, continue holding down the side button and eventually (3-5 seconds) the phone will force restart. Still same button combination:

    Volume up, release
    Volume down, release
    Hold side button until phone restarts
     
  5. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22,224
    Likes Received:
    19,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    You're welcome.
     
  6. NSquirrel

    NSquirrel Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks mattguy10. That is it. (I don’t think that the ‘slide...’ used to come up before on my 8 and hence the hold is longer.)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. mattguy10

    mattguy10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You’re welcome. You are correct, the slide to power off screen did not come up prior to 11.2. And yes, the process seems a bit longer, but not too much IMO. Anyway glad to help and glad it’s resolved for you.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page