iOS 5.1 Released

Discussion in 'Apple & iPhone News' started by Maura, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. seneca18

    seneca18 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    I do the same...I think I may have a little case of OCD, I cannot keep stuff running or open if I am not using it. Interesting what Skull said though that doing this can actually drain more battery....
     
  2. bkkperson

    bkkperson New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If u had a jail-broken phone and was running background killer with sbsettings ram indicator at the top u would see that if you had abou10t-15 apps on that board then used background killer it would free up about 100 mb
     
  3. rdub

    rdub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Yes it does free up ram, but on mine it is not consistent, in fact sometimes I run out of ram and the phone will crash immediately after performing the background kill but will have approx. 300mb when it restarts...quite annoying
     
  4. Skull One

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,431
    Likes Received:
    580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Earth
    Final stats for the first battery run of 5.1

    42% Battery Left
    Usage: 5:04
    Standby: 17:00

    Not bad. Using simple extrapolation I should have been able to hit 8.75 hours with no issue.

    Tomorrow I do the same test without closing anything.
     
  5. bkkperson

    bkkperson New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow that's goood

    What's a good benchmark

    I'm on usage 1hr
    Standby 2
    Now at 85%
     
  6. pianoman

    pianoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doh! Yes, good point. I'm not OCD about the ram emptying - but the main thing I wanted to clear up once and for all was to dispel the myth (which I can now) that emptying the app status bar has anything to do with clearing ram. It does not.

    That status bar is only a "list" of "recently used" apps - which is what all Apple's written materials tell us too.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  7. pianoman

    pianoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Skull, are you running with all Location Services buttons turned on for all apps? And for the system apps - are all those buttons turned back on? An upgrade of software wouldn't have reset them to on if you'd turned them off at all. And is your mail set to PUSH? And what interval? I just want to see how hard you're pushing you're phone. Most of us don't have our phones on standby in anywhere near that amount of hours. We use it a lot more. While in standby what were you doing with it? Just some forum chat? A few emails? Talk to us about your usage that day.

    Thanks!
     
  8. jimmi3

    jimmi3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Is there a reason this thread (IOS 5.1) is not viewable in the main Verizon Forum listing. Got to it via the link closing the 'stutter' question.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  9. Skull One

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,431
    Likes Received:
    580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Earth
    That is exactly what I was saying as well. It changes the status of which RAM "bucket" it is in but it only unloads it from memory if another application calls for memory and iOS determines it needs to free it.

    I still want to play with a jailbroking phone now to see if I can trace the exact steps iOS takes as it removes an app from Active/Wired to Inactive memory allocation.
     
  10. Skull One

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,431
    Likes Received:
    580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Earth
    I have locations services on. I have 27 apps that are listed. Of those 9 are set to on.

    Under system services I have 4 of the possible 6 on. Diags and iAds are turned off.

    This configuration was originally on my iPhone 4 and was then restored to my iPhone 4S on Oct 14th. So I have been at this constant state for almost 5 months.

    My daily routine is rather predictable:
    Words and Hanging with Friends: 20 minutes a day.
    Flipboard: 45 minutes
    IPF.Net: 30 minutes.
    Email: 30 minutes.
    Texting: 20 minutes.
    Calls: 40 minutes.
    Safari: 60 minute
    Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride, Angry Birds, GD Swarm (very graphic heavy): 90 minutes
    A lot of little apps probably add another 75 minutes.

    Yesterdays run was actually lite because I was working with my wife on an insurance issue last night and then I was upgrading Parallels from version 6 to version 7 along with rebuilding 3 of my virtual machines. So I am missing easily 2 hours of usage from that run.
     
  11. powderslave

    powderslave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why when I go to iTunes to update it shows the newer version being 5.0.1. Not the 5.1. Do I have to update to 5.0.1 first?
     
  12. Gregoris

    Gregoris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11,966
    Likes Received:
    617
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Did you update to the latest version of itunes? (10.6)
     
  13. powderslave

    powderslave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought I did a recent update. Where do I see what version of iTunes I have?
     
  14. powderslave

    powderslave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 10.6. And it finally switched to version 5.1. Thanks.
     
  15. Gregoris

    Gregoris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11,966
    Likes Received:
    617
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Good.
     

Share This Page