What's new

i0n1c discovers 5.1 jailbreak exploit and successfully jailbreaks iPad2

FYI developers are allowed to load custom ipsw's so anyone with a developer account can jailbreak any iOS version & device tethered.

This is not true at all. I am a developer and I assure you that there is no way to jailbreak 5.1 on an A5 device.

Also, the exploits used in the 5.0/5.0.1 jailbreak found by pod2g and developed by the 'dream team' are still usable in 5.1, that's why there's an A4 tethered jailbreak available still. The only the thing that's changed is IOS 5.1 has blocked the untether injection method that was used.

Again, not true, there is no jailbreak whatsoever for A5 devices on 5.1. The pictures i0n1c posted are from an iPad2, so there's no way he jailbroke his using the tools which are currently available. The tethered exploit you are referring to only works on A4 and lower devices since it requires a bootrom exploit that is non-existant on A5 devices.

While I don't jailbreak or follow the "scene", I believe the rough example would be:

Bootrom: A hole in the hardware and initial boot sequence of the phone. This means a new version of the hardware would have to be created to close the hole.

Userland: A hole in iOS itself. This can be patched by Apple at any time.

*EDIT* Figures I would be 45 seconds late to the game.... LOL

Last edited:
Jmills87 said:
This is not true at all. I am a developer and I assure you that there is no way to jailbreak 5.1 on an A5 device.

Again, not true, there is no jailbreak whatsoever for A5 devices on 5.1. The pictures i0n1c posted are from an iPad2, so there's no way he jailbroke his using the tools which are currently available. The tethered exploit you are referring to only works on A4 and lower devices since it requires a bootrom exploit that is non-existant on A5 devices.