Help with reviving iphone 3g

Discussion in 'iPhone 3G' started by ViciousBiscuit, Oct 22, 2015.

  1. ViciousBiscuit

    ViciousBiscuit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    New to the forum, hopefully someone out there can help! The wife was given an old iphone 3g some while ago with the previous owners stuff still on, so like the good husband i am :-D i thought i'd clean the phone out and get it all set up as new.

    After selecting a factory reset it stayed on the apple logo with progress bar, which didnt move after a while and stayed like that from there on. After turning it off and on i got the broken apple logo (i think) and from there i havnt had any luck getting it working again. I can talk to it via itunes but recovering it fails at the last step.

    I am so annoyed, but hopefully someone out there can point me in the right direction.

    Thanks
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18,282
    Likes Received:
    23,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ViciousBiscuit

    ViciousBiscuit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Hi,

    Thanks for the quick reply, after selecting restore i get the following steps:

    Restoring iPhone software
    Verifying iPhone software
    Restoring iPhone firmware
    The iPhone could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1015)

    And thats as far as it goes :-(
     
  4. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18,282
    Likes Received:
    23,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    • Like Like x 1
  5. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22,265
    Likes Received:
    19,164
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Was your iPhone ever jailbroken? This error could result from flashing an iPad baseband onto your iPhone.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. ViciousBiscuit

    ViciousBiscuit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When using Tinyumbrella i cannot see an advanced tab to be able to untick "Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit" i can at least get the iPhone into DFU mode.

    It wasnt until after it went wrong, i then followed various guides to jailbreak it (purely to get it working again) with no luck.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2015
  7. ViciousBiscuit

    ViciousBiscuit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Sorry to keep bugging, is there anything else i can try? Been pulling my hair out trying to get it going!

    Thanks
     

Share This Page