What's new

Help with restoring my 4S to IOS 7

NCHornet

Reaction score
OK, I am not a tech expert by any means, but I can follow well written instructions, lol!!!!
I have been reading for hours on this forum and I am totally confused.
Here is what I have and what I want to do.
IPHONE 4S with 5.1.1 and it is jailbroken not sure what software my son used to do this, sorry.
I would like to unjailbreak it and install the latest IOS, When there is a jailbrake available for this later IOS I will go ahead and jailbreak it?
Can someone point me to a step by step list on how to do this?
Thanks ahead of time.
NCH

You won't have to unjailbreak it. It's actually near impossible to unjailbreak a device because the indices are so heavily buried. A simple restore in DFU mode will do however. Follow the instructions here to restore to iOS 7.0.4, which can be jailbroken using Evasi0n7 outlined here. Neither requires any expertise, but you may have to re-read and/or re-do the enter DFU portion of the restore tutorial since it does take a few tries to get used to.

Thanks for the help and the links. I am going to try and do this today, but I have a stupid question. In the first link that you posted it says to download the latest version of TU and it provides a link. Am I suppose to download it on my laptop or my phone?
Thanks Again
Kevin

** update**
I am reading all the replies that members have posted in that first link and I am afraid I might screw something up, lol!!!! If my IPhone is working correctly can I just do the restore in ITunes without dong the previous steps?
Thanks

Last edited:
You can most likely ignore the TinyUmbrella portion. Essentially all you need to do is put your device in DFU mode and restore. The first link just covers all the bases

Sent from my iPad Mini via Tapa

Thanks for the quick reply. I am going to give this a try and I hope I don't turn my phone into an expensive brick!!!