What's new

Getting no where with new iphone 11

Jill Schwocho

Reaction score
I think I posted in wrong forum. I'm new to iphone 11 and 62 years old so I struggle. I set up phone wrong with bad passcode so now its locked up. I can't even turn it off and almost dialed 911..oops. I was told by apple support after an hour on phone trying to load itunes on my computer...wouldn't work. OK I need a new one to be fixed but in mean time I need a phone??

What should I do? Told to to factory reset on a computer but can't opedn phone.

Help please kind souls out there

Welcome to iPhone Forums!

I‘ve removed your other thread. It would be confusing to compare answers in two threads. Also, keeping the discussion to one thread only will more likely be helpful.

As Apple Support told you - you need a computer with the latest version of iTunes installed. Whether or not it‘s your own, doesn‘t matter.

Before you connect your iPhone to the computer, you‘ll have to turn it off: press and hold one of the Volume buttons and the Side button at the same time, until the power off slider appears. Use this slider to turn it off.
That done, open iTunes on your computer.

With the iPhone still powered off, use the cable to connect it to the computer. While doing so, press and hold the Side button, until you see this screen:
77DCEBFD-DB76-45F2-9579-9D1331AEBF5D.png

(Apple)

iTunes will display the following:
FC555582-9511-4FF6-959A-61909295CD3A.jpeg

(Apple)

Select “Restore”.
iTunes will start uploading the latest software and loading it to your iPhone, then restore it. All you can do during this time, is wait. Don’t unplug your device until the process has finished. It’s possible that your iPhone gets out of recovery mode in between. If it doesn’t return to recovery mode by itself, you’ll have to repeat the steps above.

When iTunes asks you to set up your device as new or restore it from a backup, that’s when the passcode has been removed.
Hope that helps.