What's new

Droid user wants to switch but navagation !?

Jbcorpus

Reaction score
Hey quick background,
I'm a surveyor and droid user. Frequently I use my google maps with the turn by turn feature or with the satellite/topography view on allowing me to view my location in proximity to contour lines, lakes,river etc. or to use the extra Lab feature which allows me to tap different pts on the the screen to get a straight distance between pts.
Now I'm in the market for a new phone and my gf just purchased the iPhone 4s and I'm considering switching. one reason is for convenience(we have a MacBook pro and ipad2) one its a very appealing piece of tech.
Several questions
Is there any navagation on the iphone4s comparable to google maps on droid?
Do all the apps require Internet connection (ie I use my droid google maps in areas with only satellite connection and it works updating my location)
I WANT an iPhone but I feel I'd be disappointed because of the way I use smart phones everyday and I've found apple products to be limiting and disappointing at times. Please any help would be awesome.

I just made the swtich from Android a couple of weeks ago. It has been a good switch, sure there are some things I liked better with Android.

The iPhone has Google maps and navigation, it is just not voice turn by turn. I have downloaded a free app called Waze that seems to do a fine job with voice turn by turn. I believe it requires cell service to operate.

There is an app called NAV Free that is about a 2GB download and does not have to have cell service to operate.

These 2 I mentioned are free.

Garmin and TomTom both have apps and cost around $50.