What's new

Apple ID is a mess!

SarahB

Reaction score
Hi! Newbie here! Apologies, as I think this issue is going to be lengthy, but here goes...

So today I got my first iPhone, an iPhone 11. Been using Samsung for years and fancied a change, plus my entire family have iPhones. I'm almost wishing I'd stuck with Samsung as setting the iPhone up has been a massive headache, and I'm hoping someone can help!

I set it up today, using an old Apple ID I used on an old iPod. All fine. Everything is working, including cloud. On my phone, I can see my Apple ID as my Yahoo email, and I can also see my iCloud email. All good. I decide I want to change my Apple ID as I don't use my Yahoo email much anymore. I add my Gmail on to my phone, and delete the Yahoo email. Mistake. Although my Yahoo email is no longer visible in settings>Name>Name, Phone Numbers, Email, I can still see it under settings>name.

I then have problems signing in online, but I manage to sign in with my Yahoo email (even though I'd deleted it from my phone). I then try to change my Apple ID from my Yahoo to Gmail, it won't allow it. Saying it's in use, or something. (Yes, by me!) I then try signing in with the Gmail. Not allowed. By this point am chatting online with Apple Support. He asks me to reset my password, which the site allows me to do with my Gmail. I try to sign in again. Still can't. He asks me to connect to iTunes, not much happens. I unplug my phone, and now, only my Yahoo email address is visible on here, the Gmail and iCloud have disappeared.