What's new

A newbie with quite a few Q's

Mud

Reaction score
Hello,
I am a pretty confused noob at this point. Doesn't help that I just crawled out from under a rock in the cellular dark ages for quite some time. Jumped on the Apple bandwagon knowing very, very little and am not tech savvy at all. I have been stuffing my head with so much info lately, that my head is spinning. There is so much out there to learn.

I had to update my IP3Gs 32gb running 5.0 to 5.0.1 (BB 05.16.05 before & after update and after jb).
Was pretty leery of trying this myself (especially since I am new to smartphones, new to Apple products as well and not really on the techy side). But instructions seemed simple enough, so I took the plunge last night. Used resn0w 0.9.10b1
I am happy to say it seems successful.
Installed winterboard and have made my first bit of customizations. But before I delve into it further...

I have a few questions-

- I updated from 5.0 to 5.0.1 but still had apps (mainly games,some downloaders, keyboard things, etc.- stuff the PO had on it) on the phone after the update. I am afraid I might have lost some space (created wasted space due to not doing a full restore). Though the math is correct - 28.3gb technically available, 6.3gb used, 22gb available. I still have the games on the phone even after the jailbreak. Is this ok? Or did I fudge up somewhere?

- Now that I am jailbroke, do I not ever hook my phone back up to iTunes?

- I have some custom made ringtones on my iTunes, can I download them onto my phone after jailbreaking?

- And are they any "must haves" apps out there?

- And of course, any other advice is greatly appreciated. Any do's or don't s?