why won't Apple let us change the default browser???

Discussion in 'iPhone iOS' started by izzyfanto, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. izzyfanto

    izzyfanto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does anybody know the reason why won't Apple let us change the default browser??? I have searched this forum to no avail, onlly finding references to the Cydia app Browser Changer (I have jailbroken, but had to go back to stock because the jailbreak was unstable). I love my iPhone (coming from Android) but this is so maddening....one of the main things that makes me dislike using my iPhone. anybody have the scoop as to why not? thanks in advance!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Thomasjtsi

    Thomasjtsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7,523
    Likes Received:
    450
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Just to touch on something first.... Is it just me or are we being flooded with the same general question over & over again?!? "Why won't Apple let us.....?"

    A very simple answer to this question is.... Apple strives for extreme quality control of their devices!! Even after they are purchased and in the end users hands. Thus, their iDevices being "locked down." No more no less.... it boils down to keeping their product better, always.
     
  3. izzyfanto

    izzyfanto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply!

    I definitely understand what your answer is, I would just like to know why not changing the default browser would make the iPhone better. I need a filtered browser, and I don't see why Apple refuses to allow such a minute change. And I agree, Apple makes a awesome product :)
     
  4. davedrizen

    davedrizen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I remember a few years ago there was a similar issue which i believe went to court with Microsoft not allowing any other browser on there products. If I remember it was ruled against Microsoft and they had to allow other browsers on this systems. If this is the case surly the same judgement should apply to apple or has something change since this ruling.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South FL
    Izzy, like you, I've had Android (rooted) and iPhone. On Android, I tried several different browsers and always returned to the stock browser. I've not jail broken my 4 S and, for now, have not intention of doing so.

    I really like Apple's products. I have an iMac, MBP, Mac Air, and an iPod. I had a iPad but gave it to my some when his PC was stolen. Every Apple product that I owned is, IMO, top shelf. Many lament the inability of iOS to run Flash. Now, Abobe has pulled Flash from all mobile devices.

    That is my way of saying, iOS, like all other OS's, has shortcomings. As users/consumers we can choose to live with the particular shortcomings of each OS or move to a different OS and try to adapt to their playing field. I hope that you are able to adjust to Apple's.
     
  6. iGaz

    iGaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,492
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    There are plenty of other browsers available on the app store. You just can't change safari as the default...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. njshoremom4gurlz

    njshoremom4gurlz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The apple browser safari on iPhone integrates w the whole phone perfectly:)
     
  8. dynastyreal

    dynastyreal New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Apple keeps their products in line. Their reputation is putting out quality. And allowing u to do too much could compromise that. Lol. So. I say. Keep everyone in line. And gain a superior product.
     
  9. androidcatdog

    androidcatdog New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Better? Android's browser lets you zoom in as much as you need to and reflows the words into one easy to read column. No need to scroll right, left, right JUST TO READ! Stupid iOS!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South FL
    Have you tried "reader"? It removes all of the advertisements and streamlines articles for you. Just read! Reader is located to the right of the ULR. Hope this is helpful!
     
  11. androidcatdog

    androidcatdog New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dear mwhartman, I am humbled and shamed. Thank you, immensely! How did I not know about this? You may have just opened the door to my new home....iOS. Sincerely, all the best to you and Happy Holidays! Cheers to all! ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South FL
    Glad you are feeling better about your iPhone and iOS.

    Mike
     
  13. nikstar

    nikstar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    At the risk of seeming really dumb, what is the ULR?
     
  14. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    It's a typo. It's meant to be URL (the bar where you type in web addresses).

    Not dumb ... just confused! :D

    Marilyn
     
  15. mwhartman

    mwhartman Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South FL
    Agree, not dumb just sloppy typing on my part! Sorry for the confusion. Thanks for the clarification, Marilyn.

    Mike
     

Share This Page