What's new

New member, new iPhone, already stuck in restore mode (jailbroken iPhone 3G) T-Mobile

Granitel

Reaction score
Hi Everyone on iPhone Forums!

I'm new to the iPhone, and, in fact, it's my kid's jailbroken iOS 4.2.1 iPhone 3G that I bought off of Craigslist in August which, after all this time working well on T-Mobile voice/text with WiFi for data suddenly locked up in 'restore mode'.

I always search before asking, and I summarize the search results, and I respond to all reasonable questions and queries; but I'm overwhelmed at the moment with the newness of this whole iPhone/Jailbreak/Cydia/etc. technical experience.

I'm looking for one technically astute forum to make my home ... one that offers advice ... or at least pointers in the right direction.

Here's hoping this particular forum is a winner!

My current challenge is to figure out how to:
  1. Resolve the kid's iPhone 3G stuck in restore mode problem
  2. Downgrade from the jailbroken iOS 4.2.1 to the better-supported iOS 3.1.3
  3. Preserve the jailbreak/unlock so that the iPhone works on T-Mobile voice/sms (with WiFi data)
I've researched it and found that it matters greatly the platform (Windows XP), the firmware (8C148), the baseband version (unknown and impossible to find out until I fix the lockup), and the software version I wish to retain (in this case, I wish to downgrade from iOS 4.2.1 to iOS 3.1.3). If I do it wrongly, then it could be impossible to recover, which is why I would like astute advice which at least points me in the right direction

Any timely pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!
$itunes_problem.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome on board to our forums. I understand you are new however one cannot list links to other forums as we are privately owned. We are here to assist so hang in there ok

Thanks for the warning. I didn't realize (most forums allow links to outside sites) ... but that's OK (it's your forum, after all). :)