What's new

My first recovery mode, hactivation, jailbreak, and unlock on a new to me iPhone 3G

Granitel

Reaction score
I introduced this problem in the new member section but that's really the wrong place:
- New member, new iPhone, already stuck in restore mode (jailbroken iPhone 3G) T-Mobile

I'm new to the iPhone, and, in fact, it's my kid's jailbroken iOS 4.2.1 iPhone 3G that I bought off of Craigslist in August which, after all this time working well on T-Mobile voice/text with WiFi for data suddenly locked up in 'restore mode'.

Any advice for resolution is always appreciated.

$itunes_problem.jpg

I performed the following to get the iPhone 3G out of restore mode by downgrading the iOS from iOS 4.2.1 to iOS 3.1.3:
NOTE: This was all done in 'restore mode' (nothing was done in DFU mode yet).

1. I first installed iTunes 10.5.0.142 on the WinXP PC
  2. I then downloaded the iClarify iOS 3.1.3 for iPhone 3G (iPhone1,2_3.1.3_7E18_Restore.ipsw)
  3. I downloaded Tiny umbrella v5.00.12 to the WinXP PC
  4. I tethered the jailbroken iPhone 3G 4.1.2 stuck in recovery mode to the WinXP PC
  5. I opened Itunes: I held the shift key & then pressed the Restore button
  6. Itunes then asked for the ipsw file (I gave it the iPhone1,2_3.1.3_7E18_Restore.ipsw)
  7. After a while, Itunes gave me a 1015 error (which, I think, means I have the iPad baseband)
  8. I ran tiny umbrella and hit "exit recovery" & then unplugged the iPhone & tried to use it
  9. I again ran thorough steps 5 thru 8 (and again got the 1015 error).
  10. Tiny Umbrella tells me the following versions are installed:

• Device Model = MB702LL/A - iPhone3G
  • Installed Firmware Version = 3.1.3
  • Installed Baseband Version = 06.15.00-5.9_M3S2

attachment.php

I don't have an 'active' AT&T SIM card; but I have my 3-month old AT&T SIM card (because I switched off of AT&T expressly because they penalize users of smart phones who do not want a data plan)!