Messaging

Discussion in 'iPhone 11' started by amyberta, Jul 25, 2020.

  1. amyberta

    amyberta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Whenever I send someone a message from my iPad that doesn’t have an iPhone I have to go to text forwarding on my iPhone un highlight it and then re highlight it to put in a code so that it will go through. How can I fix this
    Thanks
    Amy
     
  2. bear7962

    bear7962 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What do you mean put in a code? What specifcally and where? And are you on WIFI?
     
  3. amyberta

    amyberta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I’m on WiFi, I had shut my phone off and then when I put back on, I wanted to send a text to my daughter who doesn’t have an iPhone. I had to go to settings and then messages and then turn off message forwarding, put it back on, put in a code and then I was able to send her a text. The problem happens when I send her a text from my iPad. If I don’t shut my phone off there is no problem. I just don’t understand why it happens.
     
  4. bear7962

    bear7962 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think the problem is you are trying to send texts usuing only your cell #, that needs the phone on but if you add a second cont, your Apple ID, it will work. On your ipad, Go in to Settings>Facetime. Make sure you have both your cell #and your Apple ID listed here, twice, I marked where. 47A5D015-F861-4720-8487-20C406AB6CC2.jpeg
    ThenGo to Settings>imessage and make sure you have both cell # and Apple id as shown in second picture. 4629186A-7C67-4588-AD47-D143AB2AAEC2.jpeg
    Bu the way, the first picture had a line highlighted for your Apple Id, check to make sure that is also fill in.

    Then do the same on Facetime and Imessage settings on your iphone
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
  5. amyberta

    amyberta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks, everything is filled in. I guess I’ll just keep my phone on. If I have to shut it off I’ll put in the code. It never happened before.
     
  6. bear7962

    bear7962 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What code? And where do you enter the code?
     
  7. amyberta

    amyberta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    On my iPhone I have to go messages and then unhighlight text forwarding the highlight it again and a code comes up and I have to enter in on y iPad and then I can send a text to my daughter or anybody else that doesn’t have an iPhone.
     
  8. bear7962

    bear7962 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You said everything is filled in, do they also have check marks in front of each entry. Although it sounds like you ipad or iphone isnt actively connected to WiFi.
     
  9. amyberta

    amyberta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Both are connected to wifi
     
  10. amyberta

    amyberta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Does calls from iPhone have to be highlighted? If it s will my iPad ring when I get a call on my iPhone?
     
  11. bear7962

    bear7962 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It shouldn't need to be highlighted but yes, you will be able to answer your Iphone from your ipad with that enabled. When I asked about you WIFI being in it was because I have found, at times, my ipad looks like the wifi is on, the icon upload_2020-8-9_22-14-2.png Shows all bars but when I go to settings, it shows the wifi is Not Connected.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page