What's new

iPhone Tips & Tricks

nycadam

Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Location
Um, you get 1 guess
Great thread - gets the juices flowin', so thanks all who contributed.

A couple of things I have recently learned:

Was at an Apple store a few weeks ago as my original iPad was running SUPER slow. One of the store “genius” folks told me you should turn off your idevice for at least five minutes at least once a week. He explained to me that I should think of it as a car engine or computer – you need to shut if off completely for the engine to stop idling – kind of like a virtual deep breath. Made sense to me and did help a bit with speed.

Also more of a question: When you open the camera from the lock screen if you are running latest ios, it shows tabs for video and picture files separately – but only ones you shoot AFTER you open the camera from the lock screen in this manner, nothing in your photographic history. Anyone know how this could be toggled on when you unlock the phone correctly and open your photo/video app?
 

midrange

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Not sure if this tip was said as I didn't go through all 10 pages.

If you use PassLock and someone puts in a code too many times, it will lock your phone out. Open iTunes on your computer. Hold your sleep button before plugging in the USB, this will let iTunes know it needs to be restored and you will be able to unlock the phone. NOTE: This will reset the phone which is why its important to keep your phone backed up on iTunes.
 

Julie1948

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I am having trouble killing an app. I can get as far as tapping the - sign, but as soon as I use an open app. the killed ones reappears
 

ardchoille

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
4,361
Reaction score
2,070
Julie1948 said:
I am having trouble killing an app. I can get as far as tapping the - sign, but as soon as I use an open app. the killed ones reappears

As posted by one of our iOS developers: The list of apps you see in the task manager (double press home button) is a list of previously used apps, this is not a list if running apps. It's best to simply let the system manage hinge on its own.
 

galaxyman

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
50
Reaction score
2
Zig9449 thanks for mentioning about the inbuilt dictionary, that's a useful tool I didn't know I had, brilliant 😃
 

galaxyman

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
50
Reaction score
2
Each time I add an emoticon from my keyboard it translates into a code like 'ddeo3', I see other posts with emoticons, how do I add these?
 

dbplumb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
691
Reaction score
817
Location
New Zealand, where all the iPhones are unlocked
Each time I add an emoticon from my keyboard it translates into a code like 'ddeo3', I see other posts with emoticons, how do I add these?

Settings> General>keyboard>Keyboards>Add new keyboard. Choose Emoji and now you will have a new icon on the bottom row of your input screen next to 123



Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
 

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
1,845
Reaction score
363
Location
western NY state (USA)
Generally speaking, only other iOS devices can read the emojis made by your iPhone. I think maybe Macs can, also, but I don't have a Mac to test. So, if you are looking at posts, emails, messages, etc. that we're created by an iDevice, only other iDevices can "see" the actual emoji. All others will see the coding.

Marilyn
 

book

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
TN
Mickey - I thought that was the case, too but my son recently downloaded Emoji on his Android and they work when we text each other. I have the 4S and he has a Samsung. That said, he's rooted and is kind of a super-geek, so maybe he found a work-around. lol His girlfriend (he's 24) has an iOS device, so I'm sure that's why he broke down and downloaded the Emoji, as he is NOT a fan of smiley faces and such. :p
 

captphill

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2012
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Stuart, FL
RE:Screen cap. I couldn't get it to work. Every time hold home button down I get Seri. I do have a pic of my fully charged batteries on my camera roll. I always wondered how it got there.
 
Last edited:

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
1,845
Reaction score
363
Location
western NY state (USA)
RE:Screen cap. I couldn't get it to work. Every time hold home button down I get Seri. I do have a pic of my fully charged batteries on my camera roll. I always wondered how it got there.

If you get Siri while trying to take a screenshot, you are holding the Home button too long or are not pressing the Home and Sleep buttons at the same time (or both).

It takes practice, but it's a quick, simultaneous press of both buttons that creates the screenshot.

Marilyn
 

captphill

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2012
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Stuart, FL
I got it. Twice I shut down the phone on the 3rd try I simultaneously pressed both buttons for an instant. When I let up I actually herd the shudder click. I had taken a pic of my home page. Thanks for the reply and clarification of the TIP.
 

Most reactions

Top