What's new

iPhone 6 eating up data

Iphone6Stl

Reaction score
hi I am new to iPhone. I use wifi where I can but in my first month with iPhone it is eating data like crazy. Do I have to turn off cellular every time I am on wifi? I hardly ever stream a video or music. Mainly use FB ...email...and surf web....with my s4 I never came close to using up my data. What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any advice.

You shouldn't have to turn off cellular when on WiFi. FaceBook, which you mention using, is a known data hog and can use up large amounts of data while running the background. It's recommended that you force close the app whenever you're not using it. You can do it by double clicking the home button and swiping up on the thumbnail image above the app icon.
Try this and see if it makes a difference in your data use.

You shouldn't have to turn off cellular when on WiFi. FaceBook, which you mention using, is a known data hog and can use up large amounts of data while running the background. It's recommended that you force close the app whenever you're not using it. You can do it by double clicking the home button and swiping up on the thumbnail image above the app icon.
Try this and see if it makes a difference in your data use.
I always turn off all apps when not using them that is why I am so confused as to the sudden spike in data usage.

If you go to Settings>General>Usage>Battery Usage, you can check if anything is using an unusually high percentage of your total battery use. This may give you clues to track down the offending app.

If you go to Settings>General>Usage>Battery Usage, you can check if anything is using an unusually high percentage of your total battery use. This may give you clues to track down the offending app.