What's new

iPhone 4S picture quality poor

larrymcj

Reaction score
I don't know if I'm just the lucky one to get a bad phone or what, but I'm a decent photographer and what I'm seeing out of the iPhone 4S is not very good. The ONLY pictures that are good are taken without zooming or without flash indoors. If I add flash to anything, it immediately turns crappy. Even taking an outdoor shot on a beautiful day works fine until I zoom in even one notch, and then everything turns grainy. I have nothing turned on in options and the phone is setup in it's default mode. If this isn't normal, perhaps I need to exchange the phone. Does anyone else get graining pics when using zoom or flash indoors in normal night room lighting? One of the world's best photographers was on the NBC Nightly News awhile back and said the iPhone 4S could easily replace the average Point & Click. Not the case for mine.

You have made one very large assumption. And if you are a decent photographer, I am rather shocked you made it.

The iPhone 4S doesn't have an optical zoom. Which means if you do any zoom at all it is an interpolation, which will fail under even the lightest of scrutiny. I highly recommend you stop using the zoom since that is the cause of any issues.

The second issue with the flash is rather interesting. One of two things is possibly occurring:

1) You have a case on the phone.
2) You are shooting the subject at too close a range.

If you have neither of those two conditions, please elaborate on the exact condition you are using the flash and a sample of the issue.