What's new

Iphone 3GS needs unlocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

redbus

Reaction score
I am new to Iphone 3GS so please treat me as a newbie.

I purchased a S/H Iphone 3 GS that was untethered and jail broken, connected it to ITunes and was informed there was a software upgrade. Backed up the phone and downloaded the latest version of the operating system and realised my mistake. As it is untethered and jail broken no software updates should be done as it locks the phone back to the original service provider, with the phone needing activation via ITunes. The problem is the correct SIM card from the original service provider is needed, which I haven't got or know who the service provider is.

Is there any way to untether and jail brake the phone in this non-activated state?

Welcome to iPhoneForums. Please take the time to peruse the forum rules here and keep them in mind whilst posting throughout your stay with us.

Depending on what bootrom the iPhone 3GS has, you can either straight untethered jailbreak it, or tethered jailbreak the device, then apply the untethered patch. This tutorial outlines the jailbreaking process, which will also hacktivate your device (only applies to the iPhone 3G, 3GS and iPhone 4 on iOS 6.1.6 or below). Hacktivating is the process of "bypassing" the setup process that you're currently stuck at. Again, this will only work on the 3G, 3GS and 4, on 6.1.6 or below.

To unlock your device using a software unlock, it's a lengthier process. You'd have to perform a bunch of selective restoration procedures to get your device into the appropriate constraints, specifically the baseband firmware. Prior to jailbreaking, when you plug your device into your computer and run RedSn0w, the bottom of the screen on RedSn0w should show iPhone 3GS (new bootrom) or iPhone 3GS (old bootrom) followed by 6.1.6.