deleting personal data

Discussion in 'iPhone 3G' started by required_alias, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. required_alias

    required_alias New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Preparing to recycle my 3g. I have found - I think - how to delete personal data and restore the phone. That appears to be successful. But, when I turn on the phone it shows the phone number attached to the phone. Any way to delete that? Is it necessary to delete it?
     
  2. Poisonivy

    Poisonivy Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14,571
    Likes Received:
    6,439
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Did you go to Erase All Content and Settings?
     
  3. required_alias

    required_alias New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yup
    Settings>General>Reset>Erase All Content and Settings
     
  4. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22,265
    Likes Received:
    19,164
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Is the SIM card still in the iPhone?
     
  5. required_alias

    required_alias New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not now. Thanks for the help.
     
  6. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18,282
    Likes Received:
    23,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Erasing all content and settings should remove every information on your iPhone.

    Did you have an iCloud ID? Before erasing, did you delete the account/sign out in Settings - iCloud?

    Try erasing your device once more, this time using iTunes:
    Use iTunes to restore your iPhone iPad or iPod to factory settings - Apple Support
    Do not restore from a backup.

    Make sure your iCloud account is deleted, and Find my iPhone is not active before erasing your device.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ardchoille

    ardchoille Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,361
    Likes Received:
    2,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Data on the iPhone is encrypted, the encryption cannot be turned off. When you choose Erase All Content And Settings what happens is the encryption keys are destroyed but the information is left in place. The information remains encrypted and is useless without the encryption keys, so the device is safe for sale because the data isn't recoverable without the keys.
     
    • Informative Informative x 3

Share This Page