What's new

Malicious Apps?

SterlingRex

Reaction score
I'm a newb to the iPhone, but not to Android.
I don't want to cause bad press for an app when the mistake is mine, so if it's found to be the case, I hope a mod will delete this thread.
However, I've been downloading a lot of apps and this morning I got a continuous Safe Mode situation. I installed CrashReporter but couldn't get the offending app that easily.
After coming home from work I went through toggling each substrate add-ons via SBSettings and located the app. It's listed as "AW-Open". I looked it up in Cydia, and not only is this not an app that I downloaded, but it's also not listed in Cydia as having been loaded. in other words, I don't know how it got there, nor do I appear to have a way to uninstall it.

Could this be malicious? How can I get rid of it manually? I admit to being an app fiend, but I do know that I definitely did not knowingly download this app.

Thanks, all.

You should probably post this in the hacking or jail break forum so more people with hacked phones will see it.

SterlingRex said:
I'm a newb to the iPhone, but not to Android.
I don't want to cause bad press for an app when the mistake is mine, so if it's found to be the case, I hope a mod will delete this thread.
However, I've been downloading a lot of apps and this morning I got a continuous Safe Mode situation. I installed CrashReporter but couldn't get the offending app that easily.
After coming home from work I went through toggling each substrate add-ons via SBSettings and located the app. It's listed as "AW-Open". I looked it up in Cydia, and not only is this not an app that I downloaded, but it's also not listed in Cydia as having been loaded. in other words, I don't know how it got there, nor do I appear to have a way to uninstall it.

Could this be malicious? How can I get rid of it manually? I admit to being an app fiend, but I do know that I definitely did not knowingly download this app.

Thanks, all.