iPhone 5c Red lines when turning on

Discussion in 'iPhone 5c' started by JamyD, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. JamyD

    JamyD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good evening,


    I've recently changed my screen on a iPhone 5c (due to the previous screen was cracked).

    Now when I turn it on using the power button, redlines appear and nothing else. The phone vibrates due to getting messages and emails. But I'm now at a lost, I've changed probably 15+ screens before and this has never happened before.

    I tried three other screen and got the same result. I've also plugged and unplugged the battery and tried another battery at it's place.

    Any advice on what next steps I should follow?

    Thanks

    JD
     
  2. Coastiejoe

    Coastiejoe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Generally, lines on a LCD is a bad LCD. Are you using a different LCD when changing the screen or just the top digitizer?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. JamyD

    JamyD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm using the screen and digitizer. I did my friends the same day same batch of screens and his worked no problem.
     
  4. Coastiejoe

    Coastiejoe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I would suggest swapping your friends onto yours. If it works, bad LCD. If not, issue with the phone. DFU reset time at that point, nothing to lose.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. JamyD

    JamyD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Alright did the dfu reset and still same result. I tried a different screen I had lieing around that I know works and still same result.

    I'm not one to go down the board replacement road, I'm just getting the steps prior to that out of the way.
     
  6. Coastiejoe

    Coastiejoe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    If you KNOW you used a good LCD., then I speculate that the board was damaged during the swap. I say this as, each time you used a new screen the odds of not fully plugging each in are low. So we KNOW we have a good LCD and not a plug issue. Pretty much as to be the board at this point. If it were me, I would pull a screen from a working phone to eliminate all options except the board.
     
  7. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22,430
    Likes Received:
    19,293
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    If the motherboard does turn out to be faulty it maybe easier to get a replacement phone instead of trying a repair.
     
  8. Coastiejoe

    Coastiejoe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I agree. The board is the highest price item within the phone. If you have a good board, you can easily build a good phone. But without a good baord, you have a paper weight.

    I buy busted up phones all the time just searching for good boards.
     
  9. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22,430
    Likes Received:
    19,293
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Buying a used motherboard also carries the risk that the motherboard may have been taken from a stolen or blacklisted iPhone. If you put such a motherboard into your phone you could end up with an iPhone that won't work because it's been blocked and/or blacklisted.
     

Share This Page