What's new

I am planning on buying an iPhone

technodumpling

Reaction score
I am a high school student who is planning on buying an iPhone for the first time. I have only recently started doing thorough research, and only know that I want the iPhone to be my next phone, and that it suits most of my needs (i.e. my life is very social, and I need to keep in contact with a lot of people using social media, so that is why I want it to be my next phone - because of it's good reputation amongst the social people).

The only problem is is that, being a student, I do not have loads of money on hand, and saying that the average monthly plan of the iPhone is about $50, I was hoping that there would be a cheaper alternative, somewhere in the $30-$40 range, which includes unlimited text, about >50 minutes, free evenings and weekends, unlimited downloads (for apps, and maybe some for a few internet downloads), and maybe some skype-ing. I have been looking at plans extensively, and have had no real luck for what my criteria are.

I do like to browse a lot in my free time (before school, during lunch, and after school), like, in the internet, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Youtube occasionally, and other sites that require the internet. I have Wi-Fi at my school and at home, so when I am connected to Wi-Fi either at school or at home, does that still count as data usage on my plan? Or is it free? Because of my notorious usage of data, how much should I get? I've browsed a few threads already, and a lot of people settle for 500MB (which seems to suit them fine), and then some people say that they have 1GB (what they say seems to be a little too much). I feel that i'm kind of in the middle field, so I don't know what to do. I don't want to pay to much, and then not use it all up, but then I don't want to buy too little, then have to pay more for the extra data that I used.