What's new

Brand new iPhone 4S owner!

LaurenRae

Reaction score
I've had my iPhone 4s for about 3 hours now. So far, I'm loving it! As soon as I got home, I started downloading apps and searched for an iPhone forum. This looks like a great place to hang out and get advice.

I don't know if it's better to ask my question in the general forum, but it's a basic question (I hope). My previous phone was a Blackberry, and I had to close all apps after using them, because too many open apps would drain the battery in a matter of hours. I did a search and found out how to close apps on the iPhone. My question is: MUST I close apps to prevent battery drain or clogging the system (the way programs always seem to do in Windows)? Thanks!

Welcome, I'm rather new to the iPhone world myself. Seems to be a bunch of friendly and knowledgeable people here!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The 4s can handle all the apps running with no problem. I would recommend at least once a day close apps you don't need at all like the settings app. But if your on your phone a lot them apps will make a difference. But if you let your phone sit then your battery no matter what Should be decent.

Thanks! I opened a lot of apps just to look at them, and some to use them. I guess I won't worry about leaving open the apps I use the most. If I find my battery is getting depleted, I'll try closing more apps.

I did look look into getting a pedometer app, but the description for the app said that it uses GPS and that using GPS full time will deplete the battery. Maybe apps that work in the background full-time will be the problem apps.

Last edited:
Welcome Lauren... Sounds like you're in love! With a great little device. Enjoy.

Thanks! I opened a lot of apps just to look at them, and some to use them. I guess I won't worry about leaving open the apps I use the most. If I find my battery is getting depleted, I'll try closing more apps.