What's new

Using the iPhone 15 Pro Camera - Setup, Usage and Post Processing

Embeeous

Reaction score
I recently migrated from the iPhone 12 to the iPhone 15 Pro (not Max). I am an amateur photographer with a nice mirrorless and high end lenses, so my iPhone’s camera is not my main one. To date, the iPhone 15 Pro’s camera has disappointed me time and time again, it’s mind boggling that my previous iPhone cameras took better shots than this one. I bought the iPhone 15 Pro for the better camera, better lenses, more zoom, and the ability to shoot RAW so I could bring shots into Lightroom, Photoshop, etc.

Now obviously there is nothing wrong with the iPhone 15 Pro’s camera. This has got to be 100% user error. I thought that it would be a simple point, zoom, shoot, crop and use like all of my other iPhone cameras. This one is obviously more complicated.

Moreover, there is a huge lack of available resources for help with setting up the iPhone 15 Pro camera, using it under different shooting situations, and using RAW files with LR, PS, Topaz or other post applications. Apple has a ton of basic information on their Website, I’ve bookmarked and reviewed a lot, most of it is geared toward setup and doesn’t seem to help. There are a ton of YouTube tutorials and Web sites, that’s where I’ve been spending my time. Everyone is an expert, and some are better than others. And there are online courses on iPhone 15 Pro camera setup, usage and post processing, this is my current backup plan, but it’s hard to find exactly what I need. A lot of those courses are basic and don’t cover what I’m looking for.

For example:

- What specific Camera settings should I be using for everyday shooting versus important shoots, versus macro versus portrait versus landscape versus wildlife and so on? For example, I can set it for ProRAW Max but you can only get it up to 48MP or thereabouts if you’re at 1X zoom. So is it even worth it, knowing that I’d probably have to crop?