What's new

Need help with ringtones :-(

keyboard

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Hi

I have purchased some ringtones from the itune shop.........It took my money, and I saw it downloading ( one by one ) so I know that I have them...

They are in the playlists..........This is where I get a Brain Fart !!!!! How the heck do I use these? How do I get them into my iphone4?

I have synced up a couple times .....What am I missing here?

I read a lot of posts on this and they all said to sync.....does this mean , unplug the iphone and then plug it in again and wait until it says " You can disconnect "

Please advise

Ron
 

DannyBoy

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
2,733
Reaction score
25
Location
Lubbock, TX
You need to go the the ringtones tab on iTunes when you phone is plugged in and select sync ringtones.
 
OP
K

keyboard

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
I cannot find a ringtone folder....But they are in the music folder ????
 

Attachments

  • $ring.jpg
    $ring.jpg
    18.8 KB · Views: 1,245

Gregoris

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
11,966
Reaction score
617
Location
United Kingdom
purchased?? why would you do that?!?!?! lol just convert tracks for free
 

keanu7997

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Hi. I've done every step with RingTones folder appeared under the Library Column.
Renamed the MP3 song from my Notebook Desktop, then dragged to Itunes in Ringtones folder but it'll not be appearing there. Eventually landed into Music. Is it the correct way to apply ? Pls advise. Thanks.
 

Azylum

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
theres a site that tells you how to make them yourself in itunes. thats how i do it. id post the link but it says i have to have three posts to post a link lol
 

iGaz

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
4,492
Reaction score
17
Location
Scotland, UK
Are you sure you've purchased a ringtone and not an mp3?

For a ringtone to work on an iPhone it has to be in m4r format under 30 seconds for iTunes to recognise it as a ringtone.
 

Gregoris

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
11,966
Reaction score
617
Location
United Kingdom
Are you sure you've purchased a ringtone and not an mp3?

For a ringtone to work on an iPhone it has to be in m4r format under 30 seconds for iTunes to recognise it as a ringtone.


if you upload it via SSH it can be as long as you want
 

keanu7997

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Are you sure you've purchased a ringtone and not an mp3?

For a ringtone to work on an iPhone it has to be in m4r format under 30 seconds for iTunes to recognise it as a ringtone.
Sorry. Didn't know about it as still noob/new in Apple applications..
 

iGaz

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
4,492
Reaction score
17
Location
Scotland, UK
Are you sure you've purchased a ringtone and not an mp3?

For a ringtone to work on an iPhone it has to be in m4r format under 30 seconds for iTunes to recognise it as a ringtone.


if you upload it via SSH it can be as long as you want

Didn't know that. Don't think most people would need a ringtone over 30 seconds though! Lol.
 

Gregoris

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
11,966
Reaction score
617
Location
United Kingdom
Are you sure you've purchased a ringtone and not an mp3?

For a ringtone to work on an iPhone it has to be in m4r format under 30 seconds for iTunes to recognise it as a ringtone.


if you upload it via SSH it can be as long as you want

Didn't know that. Don't think most people would need a ringtone over 30 seconds though! Lol.

its not about needing one longer then 30 seconds, i mean when i get a call i answer it way before even 10 seconds is up.. its just having to trim each track down to 30 seconds before adding it is annoying
 

Most reactions

Top