What's new

Iphone 3gs unlock and upgrade

Janealams

Reaction score
I currently have 3gs on firmware 3.1.2 and I use blackra1n to jailbreak it which i believe is a tethered jailbreak and I have to jailbreak it at every restart.

I'm not really good at iphone unlock and jailbreak. Can anyone please guide me how can I unlock and upgrade my phone. All I want is to be able to use the new operating system which is the 4 series and get rid of this pain to jailbreak at every restart.

You can preserve your baseband using snowbreeze to create a custom ipsw. You can then update to that custom ipsw via iTunes. Once updated to 4.3.3 you can jailbreak using redsnow and reinstall ultrasnow...

Thanks for your reply mate. How do I create custom ipsw and whats my baseband? Sorry as i mentioned earlier I dont know much about these things?

Download snowbreeze and choose the preserve baseband option. You will need the original ipsw file to create your custom one. It may already be on your computer in a hidden folder. You will first need to 'unhide' hidden folders. This can be done via the folder options in the control panel of windows computers. I'm unsure about Mac's. It will be named iPhone2,1_4.3.3_8J2_Restore.ipsw

On Windows XP :
Documents and Settings\<User>\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates

On Windows Vista/Windows 7:
Users\<User>\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates

On Mac:
~/Library/iTunes/iPhone Software Updates

If the file is not there or you can't be bothered with all that hidden folders business then here's the direct download link for you.

iPhone2,1_4.3.3_8J2_Restore.ipsw

You can find out your current baseband by going to Settings > General > About > Modem Firmware on your phone.