What's new

3gs not responding. iOS 4.1

onetwomore

Reaction score
Hey Guys, I am new to the commnity since I own the phone for about 4 months. I checked the latest threads + used the search engine but trying several of the 'repair' types proved wrong to solve my problem I decided to post my own thread.

about the phone:
3gs 32gb running 4.1, bought it on ebay, and it is jailbroken, but I can't give a lot of info about that since I don't know much about the jailbraking thing.originaly AT & T phone.

the problem:

about a week ago my phone suddenly turnned off and I could not chargi it anymore it was staying on the red 'dead battery' screen and when I plgued it in the usb cable it responds to it with turning it on until the apple logo & then it switches off again and the cycle continues. (if not pluged in it is just turned off and I can't do anything)
My PC is not recognizing it as well.

How have I tried to fix it:

1) I tried the home & on/off button holding to reboot it, but it did not respond.
2) I tried holding both then relesing the on/off button
3) I can't put it into DFU since the PC can't see it
4) tried holding only the home button and then pluging it on
5) tried holding both and then plugging it in.

the buttons are working fine, + the cable is good as well(tried on a different iphone )

in the meantime while trying to fix it through various 'repair' methods(above) I went to a repair shop in my local town, because at first I thought it was the batteries fault.
At the repair shop they said it is not the battery but something else. I am a student in NL so I can't speak much dutch, but the guy said the problem is with or in the "pernt-plats".I did some searching on it too, but I could not find what it means and the guy in the repair shop had a tough time to talk with me since he was struggling with english and I was struggling with dutch. AND it was too expensive to repair it(almost half the price of the phone) I decided to look for some more help and info