Custom whatsapp tunes

Discussion in 'iPhone 4S Forum' started by Ferdi, Feb 21, 2012.

  1. Ferdi
    Offline

    Ferdi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I'm trying to chance the dull whatsapp tunes with my custom ones. Is there a way without the jailbreak?
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    Unfortunately, you cannot change system sounds (stock Apple or 3d party ones) without jail breaking.

    Marilyn
  3. Ferdi
    Offline

    Ferdi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you. Do you perhaps know what those apps are? Looking for names. Thank you ones again.
  4. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    I am a little confused by this question...

    There is no way to change system sounds without jail breaking. If you jail break, you can change system sounds by going into your phone via an SSH tool and manually changing them. Or, you can use a theming platform such as Winterboad that will allow you to put a different sound in without changing your core iOS.

    That I am aware of, there is no app that does this for you. You have to do it yourself.

    Again - this is only if you are jail broke.

    Marilyn
  5. Ferdi
    Offline

    Ferdi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for making it clear Micky. If i do decide to do the jail break, will my warranty be voided? Had a htc tp2 and did the ssh thing for other roms and all of a sudden my usb port didn't want to work. When i took it to lab88 they told me that because of that my warranty is void and it would cost the same as a new phone to be repaired. Expensive lesson.
  6. Thai
    Offline

    Thai New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Jailbreak = no warranty.
  7. enots27
    Offline

    enots27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have trouble and need to claim on the warranty restore your iPhone using iTunes.
  8. Ferdi
    Offline

    Ferdi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And it leaves no trail? Whatsoever?
  9. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    No trail, whatsoever. Because, when you remove the jail break, you are installing a fresh iOS - which makes your phone just as if it came straight out of the box.

    Marilyn
  10. Ferdi
    Offline

    Ferdi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great stuff. Thank you so much and for your patients. Can you please help to do the jail break? Step by step if you don't mind. Still new at this.
  11. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    I'd help with the jail break, but my fellow moderators have already done all the hard work - they've made wonderful tutorials that are all posted in the Jail break section of this forum.

    The only extra help I, or anyone, can give you is to point you at the correct one. So, two questions for you to answer:

    1) What iPhone and iOS do you have?

    2) If it's not the 4S, do you also want to unlock it so you can use a different carrier? If yes, we'll need your baseband...

    Knowing that will enable us to send you to the right tutorial.

    Marilyn
  12. Ferdi
    Offline

    Ferdi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Marilyn,

    My phone runs on os 5

    In South Africa there are no more phones carrier locked. So im good there thanks.

    Have a wonderful and blessed day.
  13. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)
    Sorry, but a bit more info is needed: what model is your phone? Is it a 3G, 3GS, 4 or 4S?

    Marilyn
  14. Ferdi
    Offline

    Ferdi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, 4S
  15. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    western NY state (USA)

Share This Page