What's new

3GS Mail, Safari, Calendar, Weather, Maps not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

kenj65

Reaction score
Noob here. Got a hand-me-down 3GS. Had to wait 2 months until my AT&T contract ended. In the meantime I played with the phone (which had been completely reset to factory) and found I could make it functional on Wi-Fi. I installed Gmail, Opera browser, an alternate Calendar app that synched with my Google Calendar, an alternate weather app and the new Google Maps app when it came out. All worked find on Wi-Fi. I even installed Google Voice and was able to make phone calls while on wi-fi!

While waiting I also checked out alternate, lower cost carriers to replace AT&T and settled on Consumer Cellular since they use the AT&T network so the coverage should be the same as I am used to. A complicating factor: although I am a retired IT guy and know my way around PCs and such this is the first 'Smart Phone' I have played with. I THOUGHT I would have to unlock the phone to change carriers - and then I read that I would have to jailbreak the phone in order to unlock it. So I did! Turns out going with Consumer Cellular I didn't need to do either. I was able to go to Radio Shack or Sears and buy a new CC SIM card for ten dollars - and they credited me for that purchase!

Once the AT&T contract expired I called CC and activated the 3GS. The phone function has been working fine for several weeks. One glitch - the first rep at CC didn't set me up for data so, even though I was on a data plan I wasn't able to access data away from a wi-fi connection. Another call to CC and someone finished the setup. (APN or something)

Which at long last brings me to the question. Even though I removed all the apps I had played with in the 2 months when the phone wasn't activated, the built-in apps Mail, Safari, Calendar, Weather and Maps still do not work. What's up with that?