What's new

Question About Recording Live Music

ChiroVette

Reaction score
Okay, so I am an iPhone 13 user, and I have a bunch of questions. I will stick to the topic of live music.

A little quick background: I am a musician and singer and for the last 10+ years have been using Zoom recorders for live and rehearsal recordings. Currently, I use a Q8. Now the caveat with ZOOM is that the sound is absolutely amazing compared to any budget camcorder or even current mobile devices. But the video can most charitably be described as horrible. I recently recorded a bunch of live footage, and the sound is quite serviceable, particularly for a device I paid just $350.00 for.

Recently I have come to the realization that the new iPhones are (and maybe this is my aging eyes lol) jaw-droppingly amazing for video! I mean, I was blown away by how unbelievably good the footage looks, not just compared to my Zoom's horrendous video, but even much higher priced cameras and camcorders. But unfortunately the sound is not very good. This is not a knock on apple or the phone. I wouldn't expect it to be. There is simply no way that the tiny little microphone in a phone is going to compete with even the built in good quality mics atop my Zoom Q8, and it would be unreasonable to expect it. So in my last recordings I realized I should fix the video problem.