What's new

3g & wifi

fjf31970

Reaction score
Im new to the iphone,just got it 2 days ago.so far love.

Have a question with 3g and wifi.I always see the 3g at top of display,but when i click on settings,next to wifi it says not connected.I then click on wifi and next screen wit has off on option and it is set ton on.Shouldn't wi-fi always say connected.I got phone from verizone.On there map my whole area is covered,so shopuldn't i always have wi-fi connection??

this is probably a stupid question,but im new to this smart phone stuff,and not to familiar with wi-fi

Wifi and 3G are different things. 3G is mobile Internet provided by verzion. When you have a 3G signal you will see the 3G icon. There's a charge for using it that's usually included in your monthy bill.

Wifi is what most people have in their house these days to use the internet on a PC or mac. Your phone can connect to it to use the Internet instead of using up your monthy 3G allowance. It's also alot faster and you can download apps over 20mb directly to your phone or use FaceTime which is restricted on 3G. When you connect to wifi it overrules 3G and you get upto three wifi bars depending on signal strength...

Wifi and 3G are different things. 3G is mobile Internet provided by verzion. When you have a 3G signal you will see the 3G icon. There's a charge for using it that's usually included in your monthy bill.

Wifi is what most people have in their house these days to use the internet on a PC or mac. Your phone can connect to it to use the Internet instead of using up your monthy 3G allowance. It's also alot faster and you can download apps over 20mb directly to your phone or use FaceTime which is restricted on 3G. When you connect to wifi it overrules 3G and you get upto three wifi bars depending on signal strength...