Signal?

Discussion in 'iPhone 7 Plus' started by rws, May 10, 2017.

  1. rws

    rws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My wife and I both have the Iphone 7 plus. Identical phones. I have noticed that when we are out she is able to get some reception I cannot. For example, today we were at lunch and sitting outside when I tried to look at Yahoo Weather app. No dice. Nothing showing. Her phone on the same app worked as it should. We have ATT and had a couple of dots of signal, wifi was strong, etc. It's also happened with other apps like CNN and FB. I have tried looking at what I thought it might be by comparing settings. No luck. Are there some key things/apps that might cause this? I realize this is sketchy but don't know what else to do aside from going to the Apple Store.
    Thanks,
    Russ
     
  2. DaveM

    DaveM Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe it's your magnetic personality .
    Do you have different cases, in particular is yours metal and hers not? Or something along those lines.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. rws

    rws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hate to disappoint but not personality. Cases are not metallic but next time it happens I will remove my case to see if any difference.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Old Goat Ninja

    Old Goat Ninja Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Probably just random. Some days I can't load weather either, and I have a really strong signal almost everywhere I'm at. Sometimes it just wont load. FB and Instagram too, sometimes they just won't refresh or load, no matter how good my signal is. I think it's the app and not the signal, but who knows.
     
  5. zstairlessone

    zstairlessone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Trophy Points:
    93
    When it happens try turning on Airplane Mode for about 20 seconds and turn it back off. Sometimes this helps clear glitches in both cellular and wi-fi
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. rws

    rws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The case is an Otterbox Symmettry and, to my knowledge, has no metal. Going to use another case and see if any difference. I will also try the Airplane mode deal.
    Thanks for the replies and suggestions.
    Russ
     
  7. 933

    933 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Also you can try resetting your network settings under Settings/General/Reset. Which will be at the bottom of the screen. Here is a screen shot of what I mean. IMG_0344.jpg IMG_0345.jpg

    Hope this helps. Good luck. Hope you get it resolved.
     
  8. rws

    rws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I was eating lunch at a fast food joint and same old problem. This time I was close to the Apple Store so I decided to torment them. They listened and said a rep would call and he did. Wanted to know IOS version and while I thought I was up to date I was not as a new version released last night. Told me to do the Network reset as suggested above and then do the update when I got home. Doing that now so we shall see. Thanks for all the replies and suggestions.
    Russ
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. rws

    rws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    We were at dinner last night at Applebee's and same old problem. Phone kept "looking" for new mail and FB not refreshing. They had wifi there but on a whim I turned it off and within seconds everything loaded right up. I am no techo geek so not sure why it worked but had the LTE logo and no problems. It only does this (wifi) at some places so maybe their wifi is not strong or whatever. We will see if this splves the problem when at other places.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15,717
    Likes Received:
    10,794
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    I've noticed that many public WiFi hotspots don't have sufficient bandwidth to handle normal traffic levels. A lot are so slow that a web page won't load.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. zstairlessone

    zstairlessone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I run into that a lot here too (except it is my work's bandwidth). I just leave my wifi off all the time on my 6S Plus so I don't forget and get caught out not really connected.

    I should have thought of this as a possibility but I don't even think about it anymore, with wifi off, darn - sorry I missed it.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page