iPhone SIGNAL BOOSTER

Discussion in 'iPhone General Discussion' started by tedstrutz, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. tedstrutz
    Offline

    tedstrutz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Friday Harbor, Wa.
    I'm not sure where to post, so I'll start here. My cell reception is spotty at my house. Usually 3 bars. I am wondering what experience anyone has had with devices to improve service, such as antennas, etc. I have an iPhone 4 with AT&T. Thanks...
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  2. bab2010
    Offline

    bab2010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,032
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Beijing
    I don't think that there is a thing you can do about it to improve reception signals.
  3. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Earth
    Three bars is not spotty. One bar however might be. Two or above means your signal to noise ratio and dBm levels are well with the 3/4 watt transmission spec.

    As for boosting, it doesn't exist for iPhones unless you take apart the phone yourself and build an adapter for the current tech out there. I don't recommend that route unless you have at least a years background in electronics.
  4. Garrett
    Offline

    Garrett New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater Beach FL
    if your having issues at home you can always buy and install a signal amplifier like the ones at the link below. Ive used these at work and they work well.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 2, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Earth
    Femtocell are a possible solution. But it requires a decent internet connection and the devices tend to run $200.
  6. tedstrutz
    Offline

    tedstrutz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Friday Harbor, Wa.
    Thanks for the replies... Glad to know 3 bars is not spotty, as I really don't know the meaning of the strength indicator. I guess I meant spotty around my house... 2 bars a lot, and my ipad is not always strong when not on wifi. And of course we all would like 5 bars in life. I'll be looking into those suggestions.
  7. maverreaultsp
    Offline

    maverreaultsp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Roger Now a Wilson signal booster with à plastic plate (velcro). 3 watts. Have 0 bar signal without it. 3 with it.
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Maslow
    Offline

    Maslow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon has a network extender. I lived in an area where I got no bars then got the Network Extender now get 5 bars. Verizon took off 100.00 off because I lived in a bad area for cell service.
    • Like Like x 2
  9. tedstrutz
    Offline

    tedstrutz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Friday Harbor, Wa.
    Thanks maverreaultsp! I'm checking that out...
  10. tedstrutz
    Offline

    tedstrutz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Friday Harbor, Wa.
    I wonder if AT&T has something like that. I will ask. Thanks for the tip, Maslow!
  11. ifonefan
    Offline

    ifonefan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. zig9449
    Offline

    zig9449 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Yep. Signal Booster works for me.

    I alway have 2-3 bars where I live..when I use Signal Booster I can get up to 4 or 5 bars.......... temporarily

    But even after the bars go back down..my 3G data seems faster.

    Plus I live in a horrible signal area..so it downs keep tue signal boosted forever.

Share This Page