Help needed iphone 5s half screen touch not working

Discussion in 'iPhone 5s' started by Baluch, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. Baluch

    Baluch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I will be in debt of someone forever who will help me out.
    This is my iPhone 5s
    [​IMG]

    It is running on ios 10.0.2 version (officially updated a month back)
    [​IMG]

    This area stopped working since last night
    [​IMG]

    All other areas of screen working
    With full functionality, camera, hardware , voice ,network etc,
    I have tried rebooting and everything else but vain.

    This particular area declines to work or response, rest functionality is fine.


    And also there is an update available to ios 10.1.1
    [​IMG]

    but unable to update because my pass code contains a 0 . And its located in the dead zone.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    The only thing I can think of is that you may have guided access turned on. This can limit areas of the screen available to a user.

    Settings/General/Accessibility/Guided Access and turn off.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    If this problem is caused by a setting, no amount of rebooting will help, because settings survive a reboot.
     
  4. Baluch

    Baluch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Its off, i have checked
     
  5. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Only thing I can suggest is restore to factory settings. Make a backup first, but set the phone up as a new phone. Then you can check functionality.

    If it still doesn't work, the problem is hardware related.

    If it works, then you can set it up again from the backup and try to figure out which setting is causing the problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Baluch

    Baluch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Factory settings restoration requires passcode and the zero in the dead zone never lets me pass by
     
  7. J. A.

    J. A. Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13,481
    Likes Received:
    16,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
  8. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    I think all you can do is take it to Apple for diagnostics. This is a free service and you'll be advised if any repairs are necessary.
     
  9. Baluch

    Baluch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Unfortunately, in my part of the world apple doesn't have an repair center


    How to determine this is a software or hardware issue?
     
  10. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    You can determine whether it's hardware or software by following @J. A.'s instructions using iTunes.

    With the phone reset to factory settings there is no potential software problem, so if there is still a fault it is hardware related.

    If the backup reintroduces the fault, then it is software related.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17,427
    Likes Received:
    13,945
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Are there any independent repair shops authorised by Apple in your country?
     
  12. Baluch

    Baluch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Nothing related to apple
    Self taught jerks that will
    either just make it or break it at your own cost
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17,427
    Likes Received:
    13,945
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina, Canada
    Here's hoping that your problem is software related then.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  14. zstairlessone

    zstairlessone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you open an app can you pull the bottom screen up?

    If you open an app and rotate to portrait does the same area not work or does it shift to the 'new' bottom?

    Also, if you have previously set up the fingerprint reader can't you just use your print to update? (I can't remember if I had to enter my passcode or was able to use my print)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Baluch

    Baluch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Not at all, i just took it to the local repair shop, costed 50$ and screen got replaced. Now everything works
     

Share This Page