What's new

Does wifi use up data?

Tbowles08

Reaction score
Seems like a simple question, but idk, and my service provider is closed on Sunday's. Again, I know it's probably an easy answer, but I'm new to all this technology/data stuff.

I'm not expert on that, but I wouldn't think if you're using another wifi network so you're not using your cell provider's network that it should NOT count for your data usage. That's my guess anyway.

If you connected to your wifi the 3G symbol will not be in the top left, it will be like the wifi signals.... This means you are connected to another network other than your service provider. At that point you can freely surf the net or do anything without going against your data usage.... Wifi will not affect your data plan at all.

Wifi use data; 3G use data, Edge/GPRS use data. When your phone is connected to wifi, it's using a wifi data, if you are not connected to wifi, then you will be on 3G which is using your 3G data. The type of network you are connected to will be display on the status bar so you can know if you are on 3G or if you are on wifi. In some rare cases, you will be on wifi and your phone will still be using your 3G data (Cases like you were on the go and then have your VPN turned ON, then when you arrive at home, your iPhone found the wifi and connect to it but couldn't arrive to turn off the VPN, in this case where the VPN is still on, it's on over 3G and all data you will exchange will be made on the 3G while you will be thinking that you are on wifi because you will see the wifi sign in the status bar of your phone. So if you use VPN while on the go, make sure that when your phone find and connect to wifi, it auto turn off the VPN, if not then turn off the VPN manually.) Other than that, there is no worries about your 3G data when you are on wifi.

bab2010 said: