What's new

Buy? Wait? Droid?

JimNaura

Reaction score
What to do?

Here's my situation....long-time Verizon customer, phone upgrade eligible on 2/3 (ironic), and this will be my first smartphone.

• Have an iPod Touch, use it primarily for music, have some apps, love it...kept thinking "when is Verizon getting the iPhone?"
  • Current phone is a dinky, but reliable flip-phone that does its job; phone and text. Any smartphone is an upgrade.
  • At about 85% confidence on just buying the iPhone on 2/3.
  • Avid Facebook user and definitely an "App" lover.
  • Been doing some research on Droid phones (Android) and seeing positive reviews and competition vs iPhone.
  • Know that iPhone 4 won't let you talk and surf at same time, but i've never experienced that before anyway.
Looking for some feedback, advice, opinions to determine my eventual decision, since I'm a smartphone noob.

Is it worth considering a Droid phone? If so, why? and which model?
Is it worth waiting for iPhone 5? or
Just buy the phone in two weeks.....

Thanks!

JN

How "tech" oriented are you? In my opinion, the Droid's don't really shine until you "root" them. That is, hack them. And yes, I speak from experience. I have a Droid Incredible. I love it, BUT, I will be ordering the iPhone for my wife.

Next, battery. Droids, depending on models, can eat batteries alive. Also, the Droids are subject to Verizon bloatware. Part of the Apple contract is that the iPhone will have NO bloatware. Another positive.

Are you a native iTunes user? If so, and are inclined to liking iTunes, I would lean towards the iPhone. If you don't like hacking, tech and like working with something "as is", go with the iPhone.

What questions have ya got?

What to do?

Here's my situation....long-time Verizon customer, phone upgrade eligible on 2/3 (ironic), and this will be my first smartphone.

• Have an iPod Touch, use it primarily for music, have some apps, love it...kept thinking "when is Verizon getting the iPhone?"