What's new

3GS downgrade from 6.0.1

Ironron

Reaction score
I have searched the forum for instructions on how to downgrade firmware on my son's 3gs which was jailbroken in the past, but with no success. I

I'm a newbie at this and have tried using redsn0w to select IPSW

iPhone2,1_6.0.1_10A523_Restore. In really not quite sure if this is right.

I really dont know which was the original software.

I've been at this for days but am really struggling.
Need help

You cannot downgrade an iOS without first having the SHSH blobs saved for the iOS that you're looking to downgrade to. If the device in question was not previously jailbroken and that this is the first time you've ever heard of SHSH blobs, then you probably don't have them saved, meaning your son's iPhone can only be kept at the current iOS or restored to the latest, which is 6.1.

Device has been jailbroken and you can probably tell I dont know much about SHSH blobs. It was recently upgraded to latest to 6.0.1 and since the gives the error
"your iphone could not be activated because the activation server is temporarily unavailable. Try connecting your iphone to itues to activate it............."

Unfortunately itunes gives me a similar message "we are unable to continue with your activation at this time"

Will this phone ever work again

Your device was probably unlocked using a software unlock like UltraSn0w from Cydia. It's easily fixed if you follow directions carefully. Before we start, I'll need to confirm the following:
  • Current iOS
  • Is the device currently jailbroken
  • What is the first 2 letters of your device's model number (MB or MC). This can be found in Settings.app > General > About > Model
  • What is the original carrier of your device
  • What is the carrier on the SIM card currently in your device.

Many thanks for your help but since I cannot get it past the setup screen which asks for language, country etc.
I believe it has been jailbroken and Is model numberA1303